2CV

I'm not big into cars and so long as it works that's fine but I was taken with this very jaunty little striped, very Gallic, very chic little 2CV, which I parked next to this morning at Bantry market. It was in immaculate condition and everything about it was so cheerful, I did stop and admire. I always wanted one of these when I was younger (actually I wanted the van) until a friend took me out in hers. It was a real bugger to get going - the gears were in an impossible place and really hard to control, and you practically had to get out and push it up hill, so I changed my mind a bit. And now I'm a Micra lover :)

The rest of the day has been spent bent over a hot notebook or a hot computer. I went into Bantry library this morning to check on a couple of things. The reference section comprises two bookcases currently blocked by mounds of full boxes. I fought my way past and retrieved the book I wanted. Two girls were working next to me, final swotting for the Leaving Cert by the sound of it. They were having a lot of difficulties getting their heads around earthquakes, and every other sentences was punctuated with 'this is so stressful'. I felt for them. It is.

Well, the alarm did go off this morning at 5.15am in preparation for the bird survey and I was shocked to find, not only was it lashing but it was dark! I briefly pondered the situation and was mindful of the instructions not to venture out if raining. It did ease off a little but not enough so I went back to bed, and had strange and heady dreams. Maybe I'll try again tomorrow. This could get a bit stressful too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.