Mr John

By MrJohn

Dick ......

..... tag.

Today I bought myself a train dayrover ticket and decided to have a mooch around some of West Yorkshire.

My first destination was Leeds. I was sent on a mission to buy two ( pre chosen ) maternity tops for my friend Mrs P. She had seen them on our trip to Leeds the other week, but was waiting until the £5 off voucher she had been given was valid to use before buying them. Despite my cake belly, I looked somewhat out of place browsing through the racks of maternity wear. when I went to the counter to pay for the two tops I explained to the young man on the till..

' They're not for me, I'm buying them for a pregnant friend '

to which he replied...

' Hey, I'm not judging you man! I'm sure with a few medalians round your neck, you could rock that look '

I then had a walk up to Leed's city art gallery ( resisting stopping off at Claires Accesories for some neck bling ) and had a look in the newish gallery shop.

Back on the train again, my next stop was Shipley. I had a walk along the canal to Saltaire and treated myself to a banana flavoured screwball icecream from the cafe canal boat, then had a look around Salts Mill. I think a coach trip must have just turned up, as upon entering the mill I was surrounded by a Saga of pensioners ( I believe that is the correct collective noun ). from the looks I was getting, I feel I may have looked like a troublesome youth, walking around chewing on the blue gum from the bottom of my screwball. Resisting the shiny nick-nacks in the shop, I continued my journey.

The next stop was Bradford. I had a look around the shops but only bought a camera magazine from one of the newsagents then stopped for a cuppa and a custard tart in the market cafe. Barry ( whome I blipped last week ) came in to the cafe with a lady I assume was his wife. I nodded over towards him, but I don't think he remembered me.

On the way back to the station I was accosted by a 'chugger'. I politely explained that I don't sign up to charity donations on the street. A middle aged man ( who looked like he contributes very little to society ) sat on a bench next to where the chugger was standing then chirped up...

' Thats the problem with this country, people don't want to listen '

Never one to let these things go, I explained to the man that I was more than happy to listen to the nice young lady in the green tabard tell me about homeless issues and although I'm sure she is doing a good job, it is just that, a job. It would take over twelve months of contributions from me before her signing me up fee had been paid off and any of my money went to help those in need. I send donations direct to the two charities I regularly support.

The man on the bench completely ignored me ( oh, the irony ).

Inspired by all the blips of wonderful graffiti art in Edinburgh I've seen recently. Todays photo is an expample I spotted from the train window at Leeds. The prolific tagger who has produced this fabulous example has used his street name, but I expect when he gets home after a busy night of spray painting, his parents still prefer to call him Richard.

So todays blip is....

.... Dick tag.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.