Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Welcome to Campbeltown

I was promised a warm welcome to Campbeltown today, but I hadn't quite expected the Norwegian Navy. This vessel was from the Norwegian Naval Mine Warfare Service. Campbeltown is a long way from Norway; I wonder what it was doing there.

The purpose of my visit was to look at progress on the Townscape Heritage Initiative we (the Heritage Lottery Fund) are investing in - and impressive it was too. And also to attend a meeting at the town's Picture House, known locally as the Wee Pictures to discuss its restoration. It was a useful gathering, and a number of people spoke, including local MSP and the person who introduced me to Blipfoto, Mike Russell.

Campbeltown is much improved from when I visited last, under rather peculiar circumstances that involved sitting on rocks and pondering the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.