It happens so much locally that...

...I looked it up in The Highway code.
1. "Do not park facing against the traffic flow."
2. "~ ~ ~ opposite or within 10 metres (32 feet) of a junction, except in an authorised parking space." Which it wasn't.

G.O.G. strikes again! (Grumpy Old Git)

I reckon the Police themselves haven't even read it.

It must be over 50 yrs now since I passed my test and I was sure you weren't allowed to, legally, park within 14yds = 42' = 12.8mtrs of a corner.

Seems I was wrong it's, actually, 32' =10mtr.

''243
DO NOT stop or park
.near a school entrance
.anywhere you would prevent access for Emergency Services
.at or near a bus or tram stop or taxi rank
.on the approach to a level crossing or tramway crossing
.opposite or within 10 metres (32 feet) of a junction, except in an authorised parking space
'' PLUS 7 additional points.

Not to mention ...
''239 Parking.
.Use off-street parking areas, or bays marked out with white lines on the road as parking places, wherever possible.
.If you have to stop on the roadside:
.do not park facing against the traffic flow
.stop as close as you can to the side
.it is safer for your passengers (especially children) to get out of the vehicle on the side next to the kerb
''  again PLUS another 6.

I didn't go out in the persisting down to measure it, but I think S/he is transgressing a teeny weeny bit.

The identity has been concealed to protect the guilty.
:¬))

As you may gather it hasn't been all that conducive to Blip-hunting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.