Patrona

By patrona

Battered but not Bowed

One of my favourite little plants and one that I miss from my previous garden in Scotland is Aqualegia. Not just because it is pretty and shapely but also because it is very forgiving, tolerating quite poor soil and spreading like mad to give a real treat in terms of display.

I have four plants in one of the sunny borders in Spain, the othe two in the more shady border seem to have fallen victim to the frost and haven't yet appeared but I will give it a little while(ever the optimist). The four that have survived flowered last week just in time to be battered by the hail storms on Thursday and so are looking a little shredded.

I told them not to worry, they are only going on blip where they will be seen by a multitude of sympathisers and I promised them that when they are plump and beautiful again I will unleash them again to be admired.

They conferred, heads together and seem to come to a consensus because they nodded in the breeze quite vigourously in approval.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.