A Lost Island

By lostisland

Sunset over Leverburgh

Today we left St Kilda, saying an emotional goodbye to the rearguard party (complete with champagne!) and sailing back to Leverburgh on Harris. Angus took us around Boreray and the sea stacs, which are absolutely breathtaking.... covered in gannets and reaching massive heights. We also saw an ocean sunfish which was possibly even more exciting!

I didn't take my camera with me on the boat, because I get seasick and decided to rely on other people to take photos for me.

After a bit of a choppy crossing, we finally got back to Am Bothan on Leverburgh, and went down to the Anchorage, a brilliant restaurant and pub down at the pier, where I photographed this sunset through the window, whilst we stuffed our faces with lobsters, fish and chips.

It was a fun night, listening to a ceilidh band, followed by some angsty music, flamboyant dancing and an impromptu ceilidh outside with a bunch of schoolkids... we are such geeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.