Balloons of New York

It's not easy to portray "good times" on a grey and rainy day anywhere, and the same goes for New York. I am having a good time, as it happens, having had breakfast with a would-be blipper, and being due any minute now to go off and have lunch with another friend and her family, rounding the day off with coffee with a third. Not too bad, although it's irritating that the only day I have for wandering around New York has turned out to be grey. So no pictures of people frolicking in parks such as Washington Square, for example.

However, on my way from the hotel to 57th street to have breakfast, I came across some bikes with balloons on them. Who knows why. It could have been a hangover from the Earth Day events (which would have conveyed "good times") that were taking place there yesterday, in and around Grand Central Station. Anyway, it doesn't really matter.

Balloons strongly signal "good times" and on this occasion I particularly liked the contrast with the greyness of the buildings around.

I'm very grateful to the people who are still viewing and commenting on my blip journal despite my distinct lack of reciprocity. I will return to commenting just as soon as I get back into my usual routine.

This image is part of a 30 day April Challenge started by some blippers/photographers in Iceland

30 day-challenge:
1. Reflection
2. Mail
3. In my neighbourhood
4. Movement
5. Tiny
6. Shadow
7. In my purse
8. Egg
9. Pattern
10. Dirty
11. Bizarre
12. Window
13. Written words
14. Relaxation
15. Transportation
16. Red
17. The last thing I bought
18. Hair
19. Summer is here!
20. Bottle
21. Before / After
22. Good times

23. Vegetables
24. I'm thankful for...
25. Breakfast
26. A sign
27. Somewhere I went today
28. At 13:00
29. Circle
30. Emotion

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.