Every photo tells a story

By 5strings1

Hidden Colour Paint Book.

I spotted this rather old book at the car boot sale on the old fish market in Preston on Saturday. I found 5 Edwardian postcards, which had been used. I prefer to buy postcards that have been posted and that bear a clear date stamp. I suppose I experience a sort of vicarious pleasure from reading the cards. I make no excuse for finding these 1oo year old items fascinating. The idea that these pieces of emphemera have endured when items made of steel for example, have long ago rusted away. Why this book then. The colours appealed and made me curious to look at what was inside. Now that both surprised and appalled me. They contained childrens rhymes. I was going to blip one of these, but thought better of it. I would never purposely give offence to anyone. The derogatory and racist comments they contained would not be tolerated today. I showed one of my sons the book, and he was similarly astounded. The Hidden Colour reference, refers to the way these books were manufactured. Children used a brush with clear water to bring out the hidden colours present in the drawings. I remember my children having similar books when they were young.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.