Helter-skelter

By Juli

All's well that ends well!

Edit: Before you read further, rest assured everything's fine!


Last weekend my daughter had a bit of a run-in with a bouncy castle but, apart from a few tears, she seemed OK. She has complained since that her back hurt but as it only hurt as we were leaving for school or when I announced it was bedtime, and not when she was riding her bike, swimming, bowling, jumping off of walls, leaping off the sofa or chasing her brother, I figured she was pretty much just doing what kids do best. After all, we parents were born yesterday, weren't we?

Anyway, can you imagine my horror when she started sobbing in pain at horseriding this morning because her back hurt?!? She was definitely not just 'trying it on' so off we went to A & E, where I was dreading finding out that I'd made my daughter walk around for a week with a broken neck. It didn't help that they gave her pain relief immediately, made her lie down and strapped her up like this so she couldn't move her neck. I know that it's probably normal that they take great care with possible neck/back injuries like this but it still started to get me even more worried!

As it turned out, everything's perfectly normal (and I think I've discovered that doctors and nurses have a secret code for 'neurotic mother'!). And just in case you were wondering, I took this picture after we got the all-clear! Phew!



PS. Today's blip was originally supposed to be in honour of Earth Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.