an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Today

This morning as we were up early Girl and I went to the car boot. She usually does not like the car boot and does not want to go so much so that recently I have been using it as a possible forfeit when she does not behave. Anyway today she wanted to go, so we did.

As we were walking amoung the stalls we spotted a nodding dog. Girl was pulled in by it. I told her she had to ask how much it was. She was a bit shy but managed. I decided that the price of 50 was too high and that we would have to think about it. As we walked off she told me how she really wanted the nodding dog. So I told her we would get it if she asked if they would take a 20. So we returned to the stall and very timidly she asked if they would take her score. They hesitated and came back with a counter offer of slightly higher. We agreed and handed over the 30 pence. Well she is four now and so she needs to know how to barter.

Girl was made up even though her feet were hurting from all the walking. We stopped for tea and milk and a quick nodding session. After a few more little bartering over pennies and a few more purchases we took the arty walk home along the stadium walls. Along the way we saw some artists at work and took some pictures. It was really nice to spend some time with just Girl as it has been a while since we have. It was like a jump back to the old Daddy days. Don't get me wrong I love the time with all of us (well most of the time) but a bit of one to one time is great. Boy and I get swimming and we have a few individual Daddy Days coming up after the summer which will be an adventure I am sure.

We spent the rest the morning at home nodding the dog and looking for Uncle Steve on the telly box while he charged around the streets of London. Whilst looking for him Boy got ever increasingly worried about all the other competitors in the marathon getting cold and repeatidly shouted "COAT!" at them on the telly box. Then this afternoon we avoided the rain at a friends before heading back home.

At bedtime Girl told me "I like the three things I got from the car boot". Who would have thought a nodding dog would change her view of the car boot. It looks like the forfeit has become a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.