Citizen voices

I must have done something wrong in my life: I have to sit through two presidential elections this year, for both of the countries I'm affiliated with... Painful.

Today was the first round of the French elections; the two moving on to the 2nd round aren't a surprise. The votes gathered by some of the others -- in particular the Front National -- are a wake-up call. Not sure how I feel about the results other than perhaps underwhelmed.

I've just sat through two hours worth of live coverage (only because the weather's been lousy with pouring rain) and my conclusion is that the French are much less disciplined than their American counterparts when it comes to taking turns speaking. I felt as though I was sur la place du marché with everyone trying to out-yell everyone else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.