Latitude Living

By QueSeraSara

Reading in Total Time

I don't know if it's a tradition, a habit, or a reasonable thing to do, but on Sunday afternoons you can often find both Kathy and I cozied up to a good book. Not the same book, different ones but similar in that we tend to seek out non-fiction and contemporary. Today I finished Jeanette Winterson's memoir, Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? I have enjoyed some of her other writings, and this book is particularly well-written and an interesting reflection on her heartbreaking childhood and its impact on her adult life.

Here are a few of her words; this comes at the beginning of a chapter called Intermission:

"I am more than halfway through my biological life and about halfway through my creative life. I measure time as we all do, and partly by the fading body, but in order to challenge linear time, I try and live in total time. I recognise that life has an inside as well as an outside and that events separated by years lie side by side imaginatively and emotionally."

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.