Sieze the day

By Mario

Lest We Forget

Tonight I want to pay tribute to our fallen. ANZAC Day here is at Sunrise about 06:00 on Wednesday 25 April. The remberence services were in the past for the Great war and World war 2 but finaly in about the last 20 years they also recognised the Soldiers who went to Vietnam. I am an ex soldier myself M775019 Lcpl from the 4th Otago Southland Batalion RNZIR. My Grandfather on Mums side was arrested during the war in Holland, he was with the Dutch Resistance. Opa survived only to die from complications of a broken leg in a motorcyle accident in the early 80s. My father was intered in a labour camp in Holland he was too young for the war at that time, but later served in Indonisia with the Dutch Forces fighting the Japanese. Dad served for 2 years continuously on the front line. My Dad will be 86 this year and still going strong.ANZAC photos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.