Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Cemetery

Today is another cultural comparison blip. Mrs TT dragged me out for a walk to one of her favourite places, the cemetery. I have commented before on this strange predilection of hers. It is actually a pleasant place to go for a few moments of quiet reflection and remembrance of those loved ones who have passed on, especially those I should not have outlived. There are more photos on the gravestones than in the UK and lots of small family vaults dedicated to whole families. There are also lots of vaults stacked up like cupboards in the Italian style. Like Mrs TT I find nothing macabre about cemeteries, especially this one. I would have no objection at all to having the slopes of Canigou as my final resting place with the sacred mountain behind me or my ashes scattered from the Pic de la Pena opposite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.