The Poss

By PossMan

Inverness College

A dull day. I was expecting a small package (Mrs P's birthday) from a courier called "Yodel" which I had never heard of before. As their very poor tracking system informed me the package had arrived in their Inverness depot on Friday midday I was, stupidly, confident it would come today. So I stayed in until late afternoon when I had to go for a retinopathy appointment but just as I was leaving Mrs P appeared and took over watch duties. Needless to say the package has NOT appeared and searching the web for a telephone number was discouraged to be met with dozens of complaints about Yodel.
Anyway on the way back I had to deviate through the Crown area and took this shot of the Midmills Building - one of the the offshoots of Inverness College or as it now proudly proclaims itself "UHI - University of the Highlands and Islands" The building previously housed Inverness Royal Academy until, I think, the late 1970s when the IRA moved to its present site not very far, as the crow flies, from here. I have to say that the old building is far more pleasing to my eyes than its later reincarnation. I quite like that central spire thing. I believe the IRA grew out of the grammar school which was sited in the town but can't remember offhand when the move to the Midmills Building was made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.