Mice Naps

By kimsim

Good Service!

Helped Big Sis get new glasses today. It's been a bit epic for her, but she got there in the end. Probably not helped by the fact I had to try on every pair too, just for fun, but kept finding ones that suited me and I really liked. (I don't need glasses at the mo!) Sorry sis! ;)

Big Sis couldn't get glasses at her optician, so we went to Boots... nuht... so whilst there was the tiniest fraction left at the end of her tether I suggested we try Vision Express. Good move! Rikki was charged with the task of finding the spectacles of choice and he was great. And the manager kept popping over to offer her opinion too. So, if you're looking for glasses in Aberdeen head to Vision Express. I definitely will be!

Afterwards we went to Pret A Manger and I noticed these feedback cards. I think they're fantastic. Have a look at them if you're in sometime. It shows a great management ethos.

With these cards and the service in Vision Express, it got me thinking... good service is so important, but I think it's often lacking in the UK.

It could partly be because we are British and don't like to complain when things aren't up to scratch; we don't want to cause a fuss. So so-so service rolls on unnoticed, except by you, who had wished they had just said something.

And partly because when we do decide to give feedback 99% of the time it's negative. So the good service that's out there also largely goes unnoticed. Except by you who walk away with a smile and a warm fuzzy feeling. But what about the mangers who should feel proud of their team and the staff who should be praised for being good at their job.

This is why I always try to make a big deal when people are really helpful. A couple of times I've phoned managers of stores to pass on my appreciation of how great their staff have been and have even given out boxes of chocolates when service has been fab. Having previously worked in the service industry I know how great it feels to get good feedback.

So the next time you get good service let them know, let the managers know. Let them feel as good as they made you feel. Don't just save your feedback for when something goes horribly wrong.

Positivity breeds positivity and hey, who doesn't want to live in a less negative world?

X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.