Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Hello backpack, are you ready for school?

As hard as it would have been to envisage just one week ago, Reuben returned to school this morning. Here he is walking out the front door with great excitement. At this point of open shade, transitional light, the amount of light falling on Reuben renders the background almost black.

Greeted by friends and teachers with equal disbelief, we knew it would be great for his spirit and the extra, albeit tamed, activities and chatting would also be good for his healing left lung.

We followed school with occupational therapy and I enjoyed the solid hour of reading about volcanoes with Callum and colouring a T-Rex whilst Reuben left his therapist rather impressed with his puzzle skills. I'll remember smiling at Wendy as she commented on how he lined the edge pieces.

His main scar is healing as well as can be expected from a glued together sternum. Actually, the technique of closure does away with the train track effect that would happen with stitches. X-rays reveal the metal wire holding together his ribs. He has a plethora of new scars from the chest tubes which drained blood from his lungs and chest after the surgery but those stitches have been removed. On his neck which housed the broviac line to administer IV fluids (when you're on an IV long term, you need a more permanent access to veins), there are new scars. Each surgery brings new dents on the battleground, quite apparent when he had his first mini bath last night for 2 weeks. But they will fade with time I'm sure as they have many times before.

What's incredible right now is how well he has adjusted to being home, how light his spirit is, how strong he's feeling and how utterly content with everything he appears to be.

Meanwhile, this morning I went to an audition which I can't say much else about at this point, but here's hoping...

A pretty cool day, in feeling and the weather. Kristina's here this evening, yay!

I finally finished a fusion stills and video slideshow that I've been working on. I have many of these creative projects waiting around for my perfectionism to take a break for a bit. In each, I've carefully selected from my favorite musical compositions, to compliment the feelings I wish to convey and each of the images has been hand edited, a labour of love. From my part in the creation of my boys to my finished creation, it's something I'm very proud of. It's good to feel proud of our work and I think so rarely do we take the opportunity to sit back and enjoy our own accomplishments.

Wildflowers & Easter Eggs If you have exactly 4 minutes to spare, I think you'll enjoy it. Best viewed full screen. For sharing purposes, I downgraded the quality from HD so it can be easily viewed on mobile devices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.