Autumn at Oratia

This morning I woke almost an hour after my usual time, and there was plenty of light and activity as I went out on my run. Went past a number of cafes and liked my shot of Richmond Road Cafe best; it can be seen in my blipfolio.

Later this morning S and I went west to Oratia in the foothills of the Waitakeres where good friends have a lovely home set in large grounds. There are many introduced trees, oaks especially along the northern boundary. They have come together later in their lives than do many, and have established a great relationship (as Kendall described so well yesterday for another couple). Both are retired from paid employment and look after this lovely property and are gradually increasing the native plants that grow here. J (male) provided a marvellous lunch, ably assisted by J (female), and S and I just enjoyed it until we left to return to the city and our responsibilities with Mr H and Young L.

Keith at kindy had made Young L a paper dart. When we got back to the apartment, he wanted to throw it about in the atrium. He then asked me to throw it and I was lucky enough to make it fly across the atrium to the opposite walkway on the same level. He was delighted; ran around and collected it; and promptly threw it across. When his mummy came and he showed her what he could do, and was praised, he informed her that "Grandpa taught me". I could never make or successfully throw them when I was young.

(Still to find an interpretation of drink)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.