Dad's Old Photos.

My Dad was a keen amateur photographer, and even taught himself to print and develop his own black and white photos. He built himself a darkroom in an old cellar.

We weren't very well off, so he must have scrimped and saved to buy his equipment, film, paper and chemicals.

These are some of his exhibition photos and are in pretty good nick considering they are over 50 years old. I wonder if some of our modern photos will last so long.

We have a lot of photos in our house, and I've only had time to tidy a few up. But although I love photos and taking them, it makes me sad to look at them and realize the passing of time and of all my family who are no longer here.
And one of the saddest things of all, the amount of photos I have with nothing written on the back, which means I have no idea who the people are.

Lesson learned always leave a record of who is in the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.