Picaday Anyday

By Picaday

My Knitting Belt

A little stuck for time today as this is shopping day and I only have a small window of time before I travel a few miles to pick up my two rare breed Soay sheep. They are actually last year's lambs and they are gorgeous. I am hoping the weather will be nicer tomorrow so that when I go up to feed them I can get a blip photo and show them off!!
In the meantime, the photo above is of my knitting belt. You may never have heard of one of these. They are used exclusively ( to my knowledge) by Shetland knitters. The belt sits on the right side, usually just above hip level, and the right hand knitting needle (in Shetland these are called 'wires') goes into one of the holes to keep it steady. These were made to steady the work of knitters who were using three or more 'wires' to make a garment.
Knitting belts are made of pure leather and solidly stuffed with horsehair. My one is a child's one so I have had to add an extra belt on to it so it can get round me!!! lol
Today a knitting belt costs between £22 and £30 approx.
I blipped this today to remind me I must finish the lace scarf I'm knitting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.