Heart and Souled

By DebsP

Kinder Mass Trespass Remembered

The moorland plateau on the horizon of this shot is Kinder Scout, the highest point in the Peak District.
80 years ago to the day ramblers from Sheffield and Manchester - desperate for fresh air - trespassed on the land. Six were arrested when they came down after scuffling with game keepers and five went to prison.
It started something and later that year 10,000 assembled for an access rally in Castleton.
The fight for access has been long and continues, the Countryside and Rights of way Act finally coming in to law in 2005.

I see Kinder every day and the light on its peat and heather is always different.
My debt is to the people who came before and did something!
The light in this shot feels too flat to me and its a hard shape to frame, but I had to give it a go. I probably should have snapped the dawn over Kinder - like that was ever going to happen!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.