St George & the Dragon part ii

The princess returned from the library,
marched up to St George and said,
'I borrowed the biggest book they had,
it's bigger than your fat head.'

'Oh no, you don't!' said the dragon,
who could see what she had in mind.
The dragon shoved in between the two
and pushed St George behind.

'He deserves a clout,' said the princess,
'he's brought it on himself.'
But the dragon said, 'He's not worth it.
Go and put the book back on the shelf.'

'It's all my fault,' St George said.
'Bad-mannered I was, and crass.
I think you're a lovely princess.'
'And I think you're an ass!'

'Now, now,' said the dragon, kindly.
'Let bygones be bygones - yes?
St George has said he's sorry.
Can you swallow your pride, Princess?'

'I suppose so,' said the princess,
but she gave them a haughty look:
'So if I go back to the library ...
who's going to carry the book?'

poem © Celia Warren 2012

For the first part of this story see my yesterblip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.