Roll With It

By Falmike

What A Day

Awoke early and spent twenty minutes gazing out of the velux window at a glorious blue sky, bereft of sea gulls on the chimney for a change. At 07:30 Joshua arrived in the bedroom to wish me Happy Birthday and invite me downstairs.
As I drank my first coffee I opened my cards, all fourteen of them, my London Calling CD, (The Clash) and a book on Sparta, both taken from my bucket list.
Sam & Josh left for school and at 09:00 Clare and I left to meet Carolyn and Red for coffee, this was followed by a stroll right through town where I was treated to a BLT and coffee in the Water Sports Centre. we then walked up the hill home where I read today's Telegraph in peace and completed the sudoku and crossword.
Next stop B&Q where we found a nine foot garden table with six chairs to match the Weber BBQ which will be arriving just behind the shed delivery. I took the bits and pieces we had purchased to the car whilst Clare went off to talk tomatoes to one of the assistants.
At this point the heavens opened, the last time I saw big fat torrential rain drops like that was in Singapore, so ever the gentleman I remained dry in Big Red whilst Clare talked tomatoes to one of the assistants in the open before moving undercover.
Off next to Treliske Hospital where the doctor confirmed I had severed a tendon, prescribed four weeks in a cast and moved on cheerfully to his next challenge. Interrupting the cast technician whilst he was watching this seasons twenty top football saves was obviously not a good idea as I now have a rather fetching pink cast!!
Home for lasagne and the best sort of birthday cake - home made, wash and brush up and then to the Royal Naval Association monthly meeting where I explained what had happened to my arm about eight times and then had a tot to celebrate.
Finally home for a quiet half hour with Clare, it has been an eventful birthday but you know what I loved it, I spent time with Clare, Samantha and Joshua, my eldest daughter Sarah phoned from Spain and I spoke to my Grandson Luis, Barry my eldest son phoned as well so apart from my two grand daughters, Anais and Chloe, who were asleep my son in law Manolo who works late and my daughter in law Janette who was looking after Chloe I spoke or spent time with six of the ten most important people in my life - Good Times!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.