Helena's apothecary

It was a long night yesterday, the meeting finally closing after 10pm, and as I thought would happen, it was a quite significant event. I learnt a lo, saw various personality traits in others revealed. Now need to consider whether I put myself forward to chair the new committee int the second year of the council, or hold back for an easy life. Hmmmm?

I took a while to get going this morning, having taken ages to get to sleep. At one point when I went downstairs to make my essential strong percolated coffee to accompany my desk work, I found Helena in apothecary mode. She has various clients who request her homemade products, which she mixes or concocts herself. When this happens there are always incredibly strong smells, or I suppose they should be called aromas, from the essential oils that she adds to give the curative results. I swear by them, despite my nose turning up somewhat,.

As I watched, I saw that she was awaiting the drips of this incredibly viscous oil, in this case Rose Absolute, and thought I might manage to catch a drip for a blip. A quick trip upstairs to grab the camera, and a flurry of activity meant I caught an out of focus drip. But I thought this image is better as it is sharper. Not long after another smell caught my nose and I realised that the hot milk on the gas flame was boiling and then burning. Not quite so healthy, but the coffee is just as essential.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.