El Camino

By AndrewForbes

Andalucía es de Cine

When I first moved to Spain, the regional state network, Canal SUR used to run 1 minute cinematic shorts between programming called Andalucia es de cine - 'Andalucia is like a movie'

With dramatic aerial views, wide pans, saturated colour, a distinctive voice over and the stirring music of Holst' Jupiter, these glorious over-the-top shorts introduced the viewer to different villages, towns, cities and regions of Andalucía.

I was seduced by the diversity of this part of Europe and over the years I've since dedicated free time to seeing as many of the featured destinations as I can, becoming an expert on Andalucía in the process!

So a few years ago I was chuffed when the shorts were released on DVD with an additional English version of the soundtrack read by Robin Ellis.

For a flavour take a look a this short about Almonte and Doñana where we were last weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.