Goodbye

Goodbye, my friend. You've been good when needed, but frankly, that wasn't often enough. I need to swap you for something more useful - money.

Actually, I think the introduction of cameras such as Fuji's X100, X10 and X-Pro 1 are gradually going to ease out DSLR's over the next few years for all but the rarest of jobs when absolutely nothing else will do. I've been using my X10 more and more recently and the only serious outing the 5D has had recently was at the weekend for Sea Odyssey. Fewer and fewer people are going to want or even need DSLRs as compacts get better and better. It follows that prices of 2nd hand gear are going to drop. Maybe not immediately, but it will happen.

I'm not selling all the Canon gear, but I am having a re-think about what I've got and what justifies its place in the bag and what doesn't. The 100-400mm is a great lens, but it's not as sharp as my 300mm and so it's the first one out of the door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.