Harri8

By Harri8

Puddle popping

A diluvial day; the rain has been all pervading. So I've taken arty shots of rain drops pelting puddles creating ever increasing whirlpool circles; wet through dog walkers crisscrossing the green near where I work; a beaming colleague lighting up the whole day with her smile and the supernatural glow of her London Marathon medal (which she has not taken off since Sunday afternoon) ... then when I got home, as gloomy as the skies, I decided on my favourite comfort food. Popcorn. Not the cinema imitation; nor the microwaveable short cut stuff but proper popcorn. Heat a tablespoon of sunflower oil to very high heat. Add tablespoon and a half of corn. Lid on pan. As soon as you hear the first pop, turn the heat right down, hold the lid on tight and shake the pan repeatedly. Until the popping stops. I add ground sea-salt and black pepper. My Father who taught me how to make it when I was eight (that would be ten years ago ... hahaha) favoured Hickory salt, which lent a delicious smokiness. Can't find it anywhere now. Eating popcorn is probably my most unappealing habit, handful follows handful and I can consume outrageous amounts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.