Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Hidden Gem

This tree in my garden is grown for its foliage but every spring, close inspection will reveal a mass of small fowers which are very deep purple - almost black.

The rain had eased up by early afternoon and so I ventured as far as the bird feeders in my garden and took a few close-ups. Just as well, for within half an hour it was chucking it down again.

Unfortunately, the flat light wasn't the most flattering for these wee beauties so I had to give them a little assistance in GIMP.

The plant in question is  Pittosporum tenuifolium.
I bought it nearly 20 years ago and now it is a tree about 25ft high. The tree is dioecious and this one is female. There is obviously no male in the neighbourhood since in all that time, in just one year, it produced a meagre 5 seed capsules.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.