Mediocrity Photography

By EqoZ

Watching them make great time going nowhere

An active freight train line runs immediately behind the building that houses the office I work in. I mean immediately behind it. The train essentially runs through the parking lot.

This morning after-work errands forced me to drive to work, but before I went inside, I noticed the train stopped. That's a very rare occurrence, even rarer that I'm there when it happens, and even rarer still that I have my camera!

Not exactly sure what was wrong, but there were some crew members walking around the engine. My photography was overall unnoticed by the crew members (I was expecting some hassle, I'm grateful that there was none), and then I noticed that I wasn't the only one enjoying in the spectacle of the stopped train - a pedestrian on the overhead viaduct was watching as well. We shared an unspoken moment of both enjoying the big, noisy train engine idling. Such spectacular pieces of machinery.

Anyways, whatever caused their delay couldn't have been too serious, since shortly after I got myself situated at my desk, the train was moving again. Hope they got where they needed to be without too much delay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.