Irkutsk Photo

By Koryak

Lapis lazuli

Taking photos of rocks is not easy! My photo skills are still at the 'take as many photos as possible and hope for the best' stage. Moving up from a point-and-shoot to a fancy micro four-thirds camera didn't automatically improve my abilities. This beautiful piece of lapis with pyrite and calcite looks far better in natural light, but the photos I took outside were all out of focus. Here the colours are just wrong - in real life the pyrite is beautifully shiny and golden.

Master blipper Baffryn has just done an evening photo lesson and I'm hoping some of her expertise will find its way into my hands. Under her instructions I'm going to try taking a few more outside shots, but using higher f values in an attempt to get the whole rock in focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.