Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Not Two Teddies Today - Three Dogs!

Didn't go to the film yesterday. I had my doubts about it. And I've never seen anything good with Ewan McGregor in, though I desperately want to like him. No - 'The Ghost Writer' was passable.

The small screens in the Cameo are to be avoided if at all possible. They're about the same size as I can project on to my lounge wall, so why would I pay full price to go to theirs and be annoyed by people yakking and eating crisps all the way through? And I have a very good DVD shop round the corner, supported by all the students in this area, and me, occasionally.

I had a blip in mind for today, and so I set off on my mission bright and early. Blip blipped, so tea and Very Good Scone followed, with free wifi to browse the papers. This is the life!

Then I set off through town - you never know what you'll come across. Huge holes in the road - everywhere. That's what you come across in this town!

But as I was walking over the North Bridge, I spied a man walking ahead with three big dogs. I hurried a bit to catch up, but he stopped anyway. I got talking to him and admired the dogs. His name was John, and I asked if I could take a photo. He was delighted and we moved to a suitable doorway off the pavement. It's not the most salubrious of settings, but it'll have to do. He spent ages getting them all sitting and looking at the same time. I used my 'burst' on the camera, so I got lots, including some of John as well, but they're sitting so nicely here that I chose this one.

Their names are Baroo, Mischa and er, another nice name that I've forgotten. (It's age-related. He did tell me several times) They were lovely calm dogs, and he told me he had eight dogs at home including a chihuahua! He takes them in when people don't want them. What a lovely man!

I've been jealous of all the doggie blips, and missing Henry. Unfortunately, these three handsome chaps (?) are not gamboling about in greenery (well it IS mossy) or frolicking in Autumn leaves as in NZ, but they're super dogs.

AND a bus just came when I wanted it! I love it when you set out to get one blip and another one pops up.

Or when you just set out, with nothing in mind, which is my usual state.

A Very Good Scone is a bonus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.