A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Bird music

Chiffchaff Phylloscopus collybita

Went out at lunchtime to listen to some bird music and was not disappointed.

I heard (but did not necessarily see) Greenfinch, Blue Tit, Great Tit, Carrion Crow, Wren, Robin, Dunnock, Bullfinch, Blackbird and this Chiffchaff which I had heard the previous week but did not see. I also saw Magpies and a Buzzard chasing a Woodpigeon through the trees.

This time I decided to go and have a look for the Chiffchaff and managed to locate a tiny speck as it fluttered from one tree to another. Although the resulting pic would not make the front cover of National Geographic (or whatever it is nature photographers aspire to) I am staggered as to how well the speck has translated into an actual identifiable bird.

I love my lens!

300mm f8

The Chiffchaff has a very easily identifiable song, it goes chiffchaffchiffchaffchiffchaff. Pretty easy. The tiny wee bird also shouts each chiff and chaff from a slightly different position and is really rather cute to watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.