This life thing...

By mrpin

Where Dad works

It's funny being a vicar's son. Not when you're a teenager at school though. People get nervous about things they can't understand, but we all do it.

It's part of me though and I had a great chance to do all sorts of things and meet all sorts of people when I was growing up. One of my earliest memories is singing the Lambeth Walk at that time we were living in North London and this possibly feeds my love of all things cockney! I can also remember a tramp (as the homeless were called in the 80s) sitting in the downstairs porch having a cup-a-soup Mum had made him - he had dirty hands, big shiny eyes and grin to match. There was also always people from all over the world. Patrick was a young curate from Nigeria, we were having lunch with him and his family one day and snow started falling from the sky. I was quite young but can remember the amazement and excitement in their eyes. I couldn't figure out what it must have been like to have never seen it before.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.