Life is getting  a little weird. Today was odd shoe day in school - no-one was really sure why but everyone duly appeared in an interesting collection of footwear, including me. The weather was wild and the children wired and cranky. We learnt about cuckoos - you may not realise that it's only the male that make the distinctive 'cuckoo' noise - females do something quite different and very odd, a kind of a whirling clucking which we all found fascinating, especially as I was demonstrating.
Even stranger news at the book club last night, a real blast from the past which I am still trying to get my head round. One of the ladies had been to Spain with some friends- a tiny remote village. They heard an English voice and went to investigate. The usual conversation ensued - where are you from? Ireland? Which part? West Cork. Where exactly and they narrowed it down to my village. Whereupon the chap said 'Do you know ....... '(insert my name!!! )It turns out he was my first boyfriend whom I haven't seen for 38 years!! There are several unanswered questions here though!! What a truly bizarre twist of fate! I'm still gobsmacked.
Anyway, today's blip - the blocked up window of an old grainstore - rather nice I thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.