An Obsessive Photographer

By MadDogGiraffe

Candle and Smoke

Another day of rain and work so its back to being creative with whats around the house.

Been thinking about a candle image for ages and thought tonight might be a good time to give it a go.

First I set up a surround and a black cloth, I placed the candle on black card just incase it fell over (safety first!) I then thought it would just be a case of camera on a tripod and snap away. WRONG!

I wanted smoke and warm light, when you blow the candle out, your light is gone so the glowing wick looks fab but the candle is in darkness. In the end I set up 12 tea light candles below to give the warm glow of a candle to the candle and smoke.

Worth the 1.5 hours of time to put it together and again a great learning curve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.