The Wren

By TheWren

Nearly a cone

The last time I blipped the emergent larch cone was here and I wanted to show it again this week as it is now stretching further into a true cone shape. I feel its extensions - for want of a better description- look a bit like slivers of almond sandwiched between sweet dates. Those of you who have followed the journey of the larch cone will recall that way back in March it looked just like an astonishingly pink raspberry and the slivers of almonds were sticking out more like the spines on a porcupine.

If you look at this shot in large you will see that a spider seems to have taken a fancy to the one on the left.

My walk today was glorious, as much because the sun was shining and the hills were clear as because I wished to soak up every nuance to tuck in the memory banks while I am on holiday. Its been a very busy, guddly sort of day but I have managed to cross off most things on the inevitable list. Why is it that so many things need to be sorted just because you are going away. It hasn't helped that I am getting the living room painted while the dogs and I are out of the way and so I have had to clear everything away, including books off four bookshelves!!

It is now pouring with rain, with even a bit of sleet mixed in, so I'm glad I am now inside. I will certainly try and post a daily blip while I am away, wifi permitting, but may not be able to do much commenting so I hope you will forgive me. An early start is required tomorrow so an early bed calls.

I hope you like this current stage in the development of the larch's cone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.