a life of vicissitudes

By thinjoe

Pont Alexandre III

So I made a wee mistake today and missed my metro exit... this gave me an excuse to take a wee walk across Le Pont Alexandre III and past the Grand and Petite Palais. I can't help but love the openly touristy aspect of this part of town, pretty much every person is taking a photo, and from the bridge you can see (deep breath) : the eiffel tower, invalides, the trochadero, the grand and petit palais, concorde, tuileries, the seine, the louvre, ile de la cite, the tour montparnasse, and the musee d'orsay.

I can't decide about tourists, it's easyas a resident in a big touristy city to look down on them but I think it's sad. Tourists come for a couple of days and see more of a city's history and culture than many residents do in a year. If you live in a beautiful, historic, cultural exciting city, you really should embrace it...

rant over

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.