Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Window Cleaning

An early Blip today!

I was watering the flowers in my window boxes when the Maintenance man of the block of flats I live in said Hello, so we had a chat about the cleaning of the common areas etc. Communication was a bit of a challenge as my Urdu isn't very good and he has almost no English. I then, in an attempt for him to earn a little "extra" on the side, asked if he would clean my front windows (three in all) to which he happily agreed!

We set a price and I said he had to bring all the things that were necessary for him to do the job and suggested he wait till tomorrow morning before the sun hits them and makes it a more uncomfortable job. This he did not understand, as the next thing I knew - while I was happily enjoying a quiet Saturday morning trying out some songs on my guitar - he was cleaning the windows!

I was happy enough for the job to be started so quickly, but when he got on to the ledge to reach the top, I just couldn't miss the opportunity for a photo! It was just too funny! He doesn't readily have access to a ladder, so that was his way of dealing with the problem!

On 'completion' he asked me to inspect the work to see if it was ok, which sadly it wasn't - mainly due to the sun drying up the water very quickly and leaving water marks (hence the suggestion to do it early morning). He has to come back tomorrow with a ladder to finish the job properly. In the meantime, he has gone off quite happy, having earnt a little extra cash to enjoy a special treat...

That's life in Sunny Dubai! Wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.