October 4th Journal

By IONAX

The Coal-fish Rock

Is the name of the rock in the foreground, Ufsaklettur, and it used to be at least three meters lower than this on the rocky beach. What you see here is all an earth filling as most of the coastline in Reykjavik.
Fortunately the contractor that did this had the good sense to take a GPS reading and could put the rock on the same dot as it was when I was a kid and vent to the beach and fished from this rock with my friends.

The colourful house (was white then and closer to the beach - now an art school) is the house the school moved into from the house you saw yesterday (two schools were united) and here I spent another two years, third class and Landspróf - an exam for grammar school - which I failed (see tomorrow).
In the foggy distance you can see Seltjarnarnes where I live now.

The picture is a composite of five pictures and I am not hiding it, I followed the people on the bicycles and they appear five times, right!
You got to have a little rain sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.