Birthstones

This morning we headed off to Birmingham's Jewellery Quarter. Last week, the thin gold pin of my mother's little amethyst brooch snapped. She was given the brooch by her Great Aunt Annie (born in the 1860s) as she and my mother share the same birthstone. It's not valuable intrinsically but, of course, has great sentimental value. Have sent word home that it's now mended and my mother is delighted.

If you want jewellery fixed on the spot, I can recommend John Davis at 'Selective Gold' in Augusta Street, Hockley, Birmingham. He did a lovely job. And while we were waiting, Mr PP and I pored over all the lovely items on display. These included this beautiful little silver pendant, whose garnet is my birthstone. Mr PP didn't have to ask twice if I'd like it - I've never had anything that contained my birthstone before. Aren't I lucky!

Perhaps the shape of my new jewel's setting will charm the sun out of the clouds? I do hope so as it's so cold and wet. (It's always about three degrees centigrade cooler here than in the SW, and it's pretty chilly down there, too, at the moment, so am glad of my winter jumper.)

Meanwhile, there's an added bonus to the garnet: apparently, it "inspires positive thoughts and inspirational energy", is said to be "powerfully energizing and regenerating" and was, long ago, "carried as a protective talisman". So watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.