lightscape*

By tolu

Yesterday, cbeebies finished and switched to the news while I was briefly out of the room. When I returned to the room Kai was standing on his chair, his face full of concern. He launched into a report of what he had just seen....

'the people had crashed a truck and made a fire and the man was crying.'

It was a report of a bombing somewhere in the world and I had listened to it earlier in the day almost emotionless. Not because I don't care, but because I have become a little desensitized and was absorbed in my own world.

Kai's response challenged me.

It was a terrible thing, and it was sad that the man was crying for his loss, and it was perhaps even sadder than I had forgotten how to engage with that. To empathize.

I learned from Kai today



.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.