Norisan

By Norisan

Lovely start for a holiday week

A bright sunny day. Temperatures went up to 30 degrees in some places in Japan. A perfect day for the people to start off their holidays.

Done some shopping in the daytime. Needed some boots, nails & glass proof insoles, and rubber gloves capable for some hard work tomorrow.

Then I was walking around the area and spotted a shrine crowded with people (I didn't know before, but it was actually a famous one). Beyond them, I found this sight.
Do you know sumo wresling, a national sport in Japan? This is a stone made monument that has the names of about 80 individuals carved in who are the strongest, most honored sumo wrestlers called "yokozuna" since (I think it was ) the early 19th century.
You can kind of imagine how a sumo wrestler looks like from the paintings on the stones on both sides.

Now I'm on an overnight bus heading to the north. What's funny here is that one of our major TV broadcasters is also on the bus. They told us that want to broadcast how the areas affected by the earthquake & tsunami are doing now. I guess I'll have a chance to show up on a Japanese news program on Monday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.