David J. Rose

By djrose007

Great Day Out!

Went to Newark Air Museum for a reunion of the V Bomber Force (Valiant, Victor and Vulcan aircraft).
Apart from being a fantastic museum that is well worth a visit I had a great day.
To top it off XH558 turned up for a flypast and did 4 flyovers for us. This was really appreciated by everyone of course especially as she had only had her first flight of 2012 2 days before (as reported in my blip!).

I took along my Vulcan Ventures childrens book and got it signed by Dave Thomas. He's the pilot that is featured in the book but not by name.
I also bought the book about Vulcan XM607, the Vulcan that did the first Black Buck Mission and got that signed by Monty Montgomery, Black Buck detachment commander at Ascension Island and Bob Tuxford, pilot of the Victor tanker that went out to refuel XM607 when she was almost out of fuel on the way back from the mission.
Spent about half an hour with Craig Bulman talking about XM569, which is the one I wrote the history document about and the nose section is at Gloucestershire Airport. Craig is just about THE most knowledgeable person in the world on Vulcans. He also signed his book that I bought.

And then I came home to a tumultuous welcome from Marlane, Jonty and Foxy!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.