In Between Days

By jase

1pm

Not sure if I've mentioned this (boring bit to follow) but very occasionally I get a migraine. Not the headache but the aura or visual part of it which for some people precedes the painful headache. I think its correct term is scintillating scotoma and I know when its about to happen when I start getting flashing lines in part of my vision. Eventually part of my vision goes missing. It not the eyes because both eyes are seeing the same thing. When it's happening the bit that is missing is not black or grey but just not there. People look like they have one eye and cars can look like they only have wheels on one side. I feel a bit disorientated and it's hard to follow conversations and concentrate. The best thing to do is take a break and wait for it to pass which is usually within the hour. I might have one a year but I had one a few days ago at work and one today. For that reason I couldn't drive as it started as we were leaving the house to take Louis to a party.

I had a little bit of a headache but not what some people would consider a calssic migraine headache. When I got home I had a lie down and a bit of a doze and woke up at 12:58! I grabbed my camera, looked for something to photograph and counted down to 1pm on the dot. This is the picture I took, so not a lot of thought has gone into it. I had this idea of taking a picture of Winston Churchill at 1pm on the dot (get it?) but opportunities were not forthcoming.

Louis enjoyed his bowling party (he came second) and we had Krispy Kreme doughnuts for the first time which were very nice!

PS Here is a simulation of a migraine aura plus typical wife reaction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.