wildinlailand

By wildinlailand

My Blue Heaven

Aughton Woods nr Caton nr Lancaster (pron Afton) . Made my annual pilgrimage to the Lancs Wildlife Trust woodland reserve on the slopes of the Lower Lune Valley. It is simply the best Bluebell Woodland in the NW of England.

We set off today walking down stream along the Lune to Halton and then back on the far bank and had lunch at Woodies snack shack. Bacon Egg and mushroom barm cake with a mug of tea for me. Bumped into some work colleagues who were on there way back from the woods. There was a good stiff breeze blowing down the Lune Valley but plenty of bird interest along the river, sandpiper, oystercatcher, goosander, sand martin and swallow. I When we reached the woods I my annual clean up of the site information panel. I have a photo credit on the panel. If anyone seeks to find out my real name you will have to visit (Rumpelstiltskin it is not) . The wooden surround needs replacing so I might offer to make a new one. The Bluebells in the woods were just at the best with a heavenly smell if you laid down in them. The image is well into the wood and off the regular concessionary path. The path in the image could well be a badger trail because not far away if found a badger latrine.

Finished off the day by a quick visit to the Scarecrow Festival at Wray village which is not to be missed. It's on until next weekend if you are in the area get down to see it because the talent villagers have come up trumps again with an Olympic/ jubilee themed display.

Had Chinese banquet for tea and now it's time for beer and a bath.

I'm enjoying my weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.