The Photo Diary of Alison

By alisoncrawford

Interesting encounters

I was taking this photo when I heard footsteps approaching. I looked up and saw a man, so we exchanged a friendly nod. He speaks to me in Korean and I look confused. He motions for me to follow him up the mountain, and then to eat something. So, I agree and follow him up the mountain. We walk all the way up the fortress gate, trying to communicate but doing a poor job of it. You see, I don't know Korean and he doesn't know English. We finish off the encounter with some dinner. Han Kak su I think it was called; noodles with clams.
Originally, I'd wanted to just sit on a rock and think or draw, but I'm glad I followed him. Since I've been living here I really haven't been out on my own much, so this was a nice change. Last night I was feeling kinda like I couldn't breathe and needed to escape for a bit. I'm glad we have this beautiful mountain so close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.