wildinlailand

By wildinlailand

I'll have half

You are looking at my Sunday Lunch. These are Jacob Sheep. Officially classed as a rare breed in the UK. They keep a small flock on Cuerden Valley Country Park to manage the wildflower conservation meadows. In the spring they produce lambs and I usually get chance to go and feed any orphans or triplets. I take my two lads along as well. In Autumn the surplus lambs are offered to staff and members of the public for the freezer. The total food miles the lamb does from park to butcher to my table is less than 5 miles. I am a great believer in local produce. My lads have no problem eating the lamb they fed in the spring it makes them realise the true value and source of their food rather than some kids I know who believe all food comes from Tesco.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.