Again and Again

By Ripitup

It's a wash out

Today was the annual and mad Maldon Mud Race

The race has been held here every year since the early 70's, until recently around Christmas and New Year (dependent on the low tide). Last year the race had to be moved to later in the year because of heavy snowfall and, the later date, proved very popular as it was a beautiful day and visitors were out in their hoards to enjoy the park and the racing.

It was decided to keep the race in a later slot but unfortunately the weather gods did not shine on the event today and, I suspect visitor numbers will be recorded as very low.

I'd hoped to blip some of the fantastic fancy dress competitors, some mud or both but although there were some great costumes on show, the opportunites to blip them were few. Have a selection of smurfs, cavemen and baywatch outfits taken with my phone but the few I captured with my camera from the shelter of the duck race stall are slightly less blurred and this one kind of summed it up for me.

It is such a shame for all of the volunteers who work hard to organise the event. Those wandering with their buckets were, without exception, totally drenched.

I might get to see some coverage of the mud and racers on tv later as there were a couple of crews there but for me,

maybe next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.