Wholeness

By StateoftheArt

Day ninety-three: talkin' in Memphis

I have been in Memphis three times, excluding time spent in airports; I don't think those times count. The most recent time was for a conference on distance learning. The conference was in the Peabody Hotel and is probably the only time I could ever afford staying in it.

The first night of the conference, I got a chance to catch up with a friend of mine from grad school. We actually roomed together, so I got to spend more time with her, but the first night was just the two of us catching up on what had happened since we had seen each at the last conference. We spent so much time talking to each other that we accidentally missed most of the welcoming dinner and reception. Turns out we probably gained more than we lost.

After sneaking back into the reception and eating some lukewarm food, we went back out to the rooftop of the Peabody and watched the sun set. It really was quite lovely and it reminded me of sunsets in the Southwest, except this sunset had the Mississippi River in it ;)

I fully enjoyed the opportunity to soak in the sunset, spend time with friends, and feel at home, talkin' in Memphis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.