Part-time Islander

By taranis

Wine and Chessmen

The Lewis chessmen were discovered in a sand dune in Uig on Lewis, and are almost certainly originally of Norse origin. They have become one of the most easily recognised artefacts to have survived from early Scotland and have been used to create everything from sculptures to replica chess sets, despite the fact that it's not at all certain that the pieces were used to play chess!

One of my Christmas gifts this year was a wine stopped in the shape of the "queen" from the set. While looking at it in the kitchen, it occurred to me that it would be a good subject for a blip! This is probably the best shot I took, but it's pretty clear that I have a lot of work to do on this kind of shot - not my usual type of subject!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.